How To Disable Snap Map On Snapchat

How To Disable Snap Map On Snapchat

SnapChat released its new feature SnapMap solely with the intent to benefit its users. However, they failed to understand how it can become a nuisance for some of the users. Many Snapchat users across the globe have been worried about security concerns revolving around Snap Map.

Many were found raging about this Snapchat feature putting user security at stake. So, if you too feel the same way and  are looking for a way to disable SnapMap, then this is the blog for you!

What Is Snap Map?

Before moving further, let’s have a quick recap of this feature. Snap Map lets your friend know about your location and vice versa. This is possible as the app has access to your location.

Adding salt to the injuries, Snap Map shares this location information with everyone on your Snapchat circle. Also, since it uses the device location service, it gives your precise location to another person. It means every time you open the app, your location is refreshed and can be tracked by your friend.

Obviously, this feature rings alarming bells for those who do not wish to share their location. But, willingly or unwilling this feature keeps on sharing your precise location. It means, if you are lying to your father that you are at school but strolling in mall, then just opening the app will let the cat out of the bag.

Must Read: Enabling Data Saver Mode on Facebook Instagram & Snapchat

How To Disable/ Turn Off Snap Map

As such, Snapchat provides an option with whom you wish to share your location, that is with all your friends or selected few. However,  it is advisable not to share your location with anyone.

  1. Launch Snapchat by tapping on its icon.
  2. From the camera screen, zoom in by pinching in with your fingers. This will open Snap Map.
    Snap Map
  3. On the Snap Map, tap on the gear icon located at the top right corner of the app.
    Snap Map settings
  4. This will open the settings menu. From the settings menu tap on Ghost Mode to enable it.
    Enable ghost mode in Snap map
  5. Select the duration till you wish to enable Ghost Mode

That’s all and your location not visible to your Snap Circle anymore. However, you can still see your friend’s location if they have enabled it .

Must Read: How to Link Your Snapchat Account with Bitmoji Avatar

So, guys, if you too do not wish to share your location via Snap Map then just follow the above steps.

Varun is a technical blogger at Systweak. His engineering background helps him present technical solutions and concepts in an engaging manner. Varun enjoys reading both short and long form fiction and has tried his hand at writing poems too. When not busy with the pen, he likes traveling and spending time with family.

Show your support

Clapping shows how much you appreciated Varun Tiwari story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *