How To Untrust Computers Previously Connected to Your iPhone

How To Untrust Computers Previously Connected to Your iPhone

Connecting an iPhone to a computer is a common practice that every user follows to sync personal data like photos, videos, contacts etc. Everytime you connect your iPhone to a computer you may have noticed a prompt on your iPhone to Trust the device you are connecting. If the computer to which you are connecting your iPhone is your personal computer or laptop then there is no harm in making it a trusted device.

However, if you are connecting your iPhone to your friend’s computer or one with a public access then it can be dangerous to mark it as trusted as once you trust a computer it not only syncs with your iPhone, but can also access photos, videos and contacts stored in it.

But what if you have unintentionally or accidentally tapped on Trust button in the prompt while connecting your iPhone to a public computer? No need to get worried as this article will help you to untrust computers that you previously connected to your iPhone.

Please note that there is no way to untrust an individual system, therefore you have to clear all the trusted computer list in one go.

How to Untrust Computers Your iPhone Previously Connected To:

In this article we will share three methods using any one of which you can trust the system that you have marked as trusted accidentally.

Reset Network Settings on iPhone

  1. To get started tap on Settings icon.
  2. In the Settings, select General option.

 iPhone 3. Now tap on Reset option.

 iPhone4. In the Reset menu, tap on Reset Network Settings.

 iPhone5. You have to now enter the passcode on your device to reset the network settings.

iPhone6. Now tap on “Reset Network Settings” on the prompt to confirm.

 iPhone

Now since you have reset the network settings this will also delete all your saved Wifi passwords on the device. Therefore, you have to re-enter the password the next time you connect to a Wi-Fi network.

See Also: How to Set Up Medical ID on Your iPhone

Reset Location & Privacy Settings on iPhone

If you wish to prevent yourself from the hassle of re-entering the Wifi password then you can go for this method, i.e. resetting location and privacy settings.

Please note that once you reset location and privacy settings it will reset all the permissions you have formerly given to various apps on your device.

  1. To get started tap on Settings icon.
  2. In the Settings, select General option.

iPhone 3. Now tap on Reset option.

iPhone4. In the Reset menu tap on Reset Location & Privacy.

 iPhone5. You have to now enter the passcode on your device to reset the network settings.

 iPhone6. Tap on Reset Settings to reset your location and privacy settings.

iPhone

Now since you have reset location and privacy settings you have to grant the permissions to all the apps that you have given before.

Restore your iPhone to Factory Settings

If you go for this method then it will completely wipe your iPhone. But if you are still using iOS version prior to iOS 8 then you are bound to use this option to untrust computers that you previously connected to your iPhone.

 iPhone

But if you have the latest version of iOS installed on your device then we recommend you to use the above two methods. As resetting your device to factory setting just for untrusting a previously connected computer to iPhone really do not make sense.

Now use any one of the method listed above as per choice and the operating system installed on your device.

Also, do remember to let us know the method you are going to use to untrust computers that you previously connected to your iPhone in the comment box below.

Varun is a technical blogger at Systweak. His engineering background helps him present technical solutions and concepts in an engaging manner. Varun enjoys reading both short and long form fiction and has tried his hand at writing poems too. When not busy with the pen, he likes traveling and spending time with family.

Show your support

Clapping shows how much you appreciated Varun Tiwari story.

0 thought on “How To Untrust Computers Previously Connected to Your iPhone”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *