People don’t like to be tracked especially when it comes to browsing habits. We don’t want websites or hackers to know what we are browsing. Also, nobody likes anyone peeking into private data or steal an identity. Therefore, we try to use the browser anonymously.
Private Browsing is a way to surf the internet without hackers tracking or websites using your data to throw ads at you. It helps you disguise online activity from other people. Some of the browsers claim to provide that experience. However, is it really possible to surf the internet without anyone tracking? There are a lot of myths spread around private browsing, let’s know more about it!
Myth No 1: Private Browsing Makes You Browse Anonymous
Private Browsing masks your identity and doesn’t allow others to track your identities or activities while browsing.
Truth: Private Browsing doesn’t really mask your identity and therefore doesn’t hides your activities. Websites can still collect your information while you surf the internet, even if you are not signed in. Also, internet service providers can keep track of your activities. If you use your computer or phone at work, your company will likely be able to track the websites you visit.
Even if you are surfing on the internet at home, it is possible that your ISPs could get their hands on your browsing information.
Solution: If you still want to browse anonymously, private browsing is not an option anymore, then you must get a virtual private network (VPN). VPN extends a private network across a public one and allow users to send or receive data across public networks in such a way that it appears that their devices were connected to the private network directly. One of the best VPN is Nord VPN, which comes with advanced technologies to protect you when using public Wi-Fi networks, secure your internet activities from malicious activities and hackers, and also blocks irritating ads. It allows you to access blocked websites which otherwise can’t be accessed due to geo-restricted limitations.
Myth No 2: Private Browsing Deletes All Traces Of Browsing Activities From Your Computer
Private Browsing removes all traces of browsing activities from your computer after your session is ended.
Truth: Private Browsing deletes browsing history, cookies, and stored passwords once you close the private window. However, if you have downloaded any file from a site will not be deleted from your computer. Although the downloaded file can’t be located in downloads in your browser. Also, if you bookmark a website while browsing in a private window, it will still be in the bookmarks list.
Solution: Using a VPN or Virtual Private Network can help you conceal your identity and help you browse securely.
Myth No. 3: Private Browsing Doesn’t Display Browsing History
Private Browsing can delete the browsing history once your session is over.
Truth: When you use Private Browsing, it will show all the visited sites and bookmarks when you type in the address bar. These URLs are saved to your browser when you are browsing normally.
Solution: If you don’t want to get suggestions, then you can disable the option. In Firefox Options (Gear icon). Click Private & Security. Under Address bar, uncheck all the options. For Chrome, you can delete browsing history. You can also delete the suggested URL by clicking on it when appears in the drop-down of the address bar and press Shift.
Myth No. 4 Private Browsing protects from spyware and keystroke loggers:
It is commonly believed that if you use a private window, it not only secures your browsing activities but also protects you from spyware.
Truth: Private Browsing will not secure your computer from malware, spyware or any other malicious content installed on your computer.
Solution: If you suspect a malicious activity on your phone or computer, you should install an antimalware software on your device. If you have a Windows computer, you can get Advanced System Protector, which can keep your computer safe from malware, viruses, keyloggers, and spyware. However, if you own an Android or Mac, then you can get Systweak Anti-Malware to safeguard your computer from malicious content.
Antivirus software is a better way to remove any infectious content from your computer. It also ensures that your device doesn’t get compromised or get infected by viruses, spyware, malware or other malicious content.
So, these are some of the commonly believed myths about private browsing along with the reality behind them. We have also suggested things that you could do to keep your browsing activities anonymous and private.
Liked the article? If yes, then please share your thoughts in the comments section below.