Google Photos Now Allows Direct Album Sharing

Google Photos Now Allows Direct Album Sharing

598Views
Tech News

Undeniably, Google Photos is the most popular service offered by Google; with time, it is getting better and better. However, sharing photo albums created on Google Photos is a cumbersome task as you need to generate a link for sharing an album.

Luckily, to make things easy last December, Google launched direct sharing. Using it, users could share photos and videos to an ongoing, private conversation in the app. Still sharing albums was not that easy.

Read More: How To Move Photos From Google Drive To Google Photos

To resolve this problem, Google is rolling out direct album sharing from Photos App. This means now you can directly share albums with people and their Google Accounts. In addition to this, you can turn to link sharing on or off at any time if you decide to stop others from accessing the album.

How does the new feature work?

When sharing an album instead of generating a link you can tap share icon > tap Invite to Album > select the users, and your album will be shared with them.

The selected person will get an email and Google Photos notification. Alternatively, they can visit the Sharing tab.

Moreover, if the user wants, they can remove people – this will remove any photos or videos they added – that you previously shared with the album.

Is this feature available for all, or is it limited?

Users can share photo albums with anyone having a Gmail/Google account. Does this mean only Google users will be able to use it?

Wait, don’t reach conclusions.

Google Photos is still offering link sharing for those who don’t have Google Account. If you want to share an album with someone who does not have a Google Account, check the second carousel in the share sheets. It will let you create URLs and will list all available messaging services.

Indeed, this is an excellent step towards better and more integration. Now no longer users will have to go through the lengthy process of link sharing.

Read More: 10 Best Photo Sharing Websites 2020 & Best Free Photo Sharing Site

Due to COVID-19, Google has noticed a 50% increase in Photo sharing; this new update will surely help users.

This new change offers more explicit control over who sees your albums and Google informs the person through email and in-app notification.

What do you think? Will you use this new feature?

Please share your thoughts with us.

What Do You Think?
Responses

Leave a Reply

POPULAR ARTICLES


AS SEEN ON