How Do I Block Someone On TikTok (Step By Step Guide)

How Do I Block Someone On TikTok (Step By Step Guide)

556Views
How-To Tips & Tricks

TikTok, the explosively popular Chinese Social Media Platform has approached the highest limits of its global popularity. It presents an alternative version of online sharing & allows users to create short videos with music, filters and other features.

The videos are funny, sometimes cringy but they’re definitely addictive.

Until and unless you want to make your TikTok account completely private, anyone on the platform (with or without a TikTok account) can check out your profile & watch all the videos you’ve posted. Similar to other social media sites, people have reported several incidences of bullying, hate speech and spam.

How To Block Someone On TikTok (Step By Step Process)

Letting public view your profile can lead to more followers in the long run, but there’s no point in letting anyone see or download your videos for offline use. So, if you want to get rid of those troublesome fans, blocking them may be a little drastic but it’s necessary sometimes.

Step 1- Open TikTok

From your app drawer, locate the TikTok application. As shown in the image below, it’s a white color music note icon on a black background.  Tap on it to launch the app!

TikTok

Step 2- Head Towards Search Section

Find the troublesome fam that you wish to block from your TikTok account. The users can be found in your fans/followers list. However, you can also search for specific users using Search Box.

Step 3- Block The User

Once you find the user you want to block, open its profile and tap on the Triple-Dots icon at the top-right corner top expand more options. You’ll find options to Report the user, Block them or Send Message. Choose the Block option & Confirm.

block someone on TikTok

The user’s videos will automatically disappear, and you’ll see the pop-up “You’ve Blocked This User and Unable to View this User’s Videos”.

As soon as you block the user, they’ll not be able to find you in searches or follow you again.

How To Stop TikTok Users From Sending You Messages?

Here’s a step by step process to turn off DMs on TikTok:

Since TikTok only allows ‘Friends’ to send Direct Messages (DMs). But you can set the option to Stop All Users from sending you messages. To find the setting, follow the instructions below:

Step 1- Launch TikTok on your smartphone and tap on the Profile icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

Step 2- On the next pop-up, hit the three-dots icon to open Privacy and Safety settings.

Step 3- Under Safety header, tap on the ‘Who Can Send Me Messages” option > tap on the Off button to stop users from sending you Direct Messages.

turn off DMs on TikTok

This is how you can easily enhance your privacy and stop people from sending you Direct Messages.

How Do I Verify If Someone Has Blocked Me on TikTok?

Some reasons why people usually block someone is, either they are bloating them with inappropriate content, spamming them with frequent DMs or putting wrong comments. Whenever someone gets blocked, they didn’t get any notification or any popup indicating the same.  So, how do you if your favorite person has blocked you? Using the method below:

Step 1- Open TikTok on your device and go to the Search section (the magnifying glass icon).

Step 2- Once you get to the Explore page of TikTok, search for the user, you think might have blocked you. Type the full username to get accurate results.

Step 3- Verify if you can locate the particular username from the result. If you see the blank screen as shown in the image below. You can definitely conclude that the particular user has blocked you.

How to block someone on TikTok

This blank screen only appears when someone blocks you and disable you to interact with their account in any way.

Bottom Line

Sure, in this Internet-ruled age, no person is safe from negative thoughts, despite following the best Privacy & Security Practices. However, reporting and blocking such users can help you to some extent to save yourself from sticky people around you!

Get connected with us on our Social Media Channels: Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, YouTube or Instagram to solve your daily life tech troubles. You can also drop us your feedback or query at  support@systweak.com!

Is this page helpful?

Leave a Reply

View Offer Close