How To Delete Google Maps History And Enable Incognito Mode ?

How To Delete Google Maps History And Enable Incognito Mode ?

888Views
Android How-To

You want to keep your search history private, and Google is no far behind to prove itself. We all are aware of the significance of Google Maps in our lives. Whether you want to track your booked cab or wish to reach somewhere avoiding traffic, Google Maps is a savior.

Now if you travel anywhere around the world, the location history usually backs you up. It is good to let it saved on your phone but if in case, you do not want it, you need to know how to delete Google Maps history. Plus, now the update on Google Maps Incognito mode is another plus which we will be discussing in the following article.

How To Clear Google Maps Location History

On Android

Follow these steps to delete Google Maps history from an Android phone.

Step 1: Open the Google Maps app (connected with your Gmail account)

Step 2: Swipe towards right from the left edge to open the options.

Delete Google Maps History

Step 3: Scroll down and choose ‘Settings

Step 4: Go to Maps History.

Step 5: On this next page, you have two options to choose from. One is Choose to delete automatically. If you tap on it, you get options like Keep until I delete manually, Keep for 18 months and Keep for 3 months. Choose the appropriate option and tap on Next.

Delete google maps search history 2

OR

To find another one, return back to Maps Activity once again. Scroll down and you can choose individual location history to view and delete them.

how to delete google maps search history

And it’s done!

Also Read: Travel Smarter With Google Maps

On iOS Devices

Follow these steps to delete Google Maps history from iOS devices.

Step 1: Open the Google Maps linked with your account.

Step 2: Tap on the three lines or the menu button from the top-left. Select Settings here.

Step 3: Tap Maps History.

go to settings

Step 4: Once you tap on it, the entire map history displays on the screen. As you find the option Filter by date right there, you have the liberty to find the required date range as well.

my activity

Step 5: Scroll down and you can find the option Choose to delete automatically.

OR

You can simply scroll down and notice the individual map history. Tap on the three dots right in front and choose to delete them.

And it’s done!

You had to go through this above process to delete the location history on Google Maps. but what if you are given a smart move to not letting your history get logged. Considering this, Google Maps incognito mode has been introduced.

Also Read: How Google Maps Provide Traffic Updates

What Is Google Map Incognito Mode?

Google map incognito mode is a method in which you can pause location sharing with other maps as well as preventing your device from saving your location history. Though it does not offer a security blanket on all the logged-in devices, it still gives you a buffer for a limited period of time only.

If Incognito mode is active, you will not get any app suggestions or notifications. You will also not be getting the option of location sharing, media integration, offline maps, and Google assistant microphone in navigation.

Note: This feature is not yet available on Google Maps web version as well as iOS devices. However, as the reports claim, it will be launched on iOS devices real soon.

How To Enable Google Map Incognito Mode On Android Device?

Step 1: Open the Google Maps app on an Android phone.

Step 2: Tap on your profile icon at the top-right.

manage google account

Step 3: Select Turn on Incognito mode.

And it’s done.

Note that the next message says that ‘Turning on Incognito mode in Maps does not affect how your activity is used or saved by internet providers, other apps, voice search, and other Google services.

If you want location history to be more secure, try using Google Maps via free Android VPN services.

Peek-A-Boo!

No, no don’t worry, we have given you solutions on how to delete google maps history and enabling incognito mode so no one can peek into your accounts. So enjoy visiting or locating different locations without letting them know!

What do you have to say about it? Comment below in the section and share your experiences along. With that, keep following us on Facebook & Youtube for more updates.

What Do You Think?
Responses

Leave a Reply

POPULAR ARTICLES


AS SEEN ON