A recent bug in the latest version of iOS is showing “This app is no longer shared with you,” error message. Users running iOS 13.4.1, iOS 13.5 and some who updated apps that include YouTube, Facebook, LastPass, WhatsApp and more recently are affected with this bug.
Here, in this article, we will help understand the reason for this problem and how to resolve, “This app is no longer shared with you.”
A user at MacRumors describes the issue as:
Is anyone else experiencing widespread app crashes? I am suddenly being informed that “this app is no longer shared with you” from several iOS apps. When I follow the prompt to the app’s App Store page, the only option is to “open” which then puts me back into the same loop.
In addition to this, there were tweets on Twitter for a similar problem::
@AppleSupport iOS 13.5 is causing many of my apps to give me a “this app is no longer shared with you.” Error. Have to reinstall all of them!
— Josh Randazza- Pade (@JoshPade) May 22, 2020
Fix for “This App is No Longer Shared?”
Generally, to fix the problem, people encountering it are deleting and reinstalling the apps that are causing problems.
Though the issue is fixed, however, users end up losing app data like game progress and others.
Therefore, to save yourself from this hassle instead of deleting and reinstalling the app, try to Offload app.
Benefits of app offloading
- Won’t lose any data
- Can resume from where you left
How to offload an app in iOS?
To offload an app and to resume working from where you left here are steps below for offloading app in iOS:
- Head to phone Settings > General
- Tap the app > Offload app > Reinstall App.
- This will reinstall the app without deleting any app data or documents.
Now, try and use the app. It should work fine.
However, if you still encounter the error message wait for Apple to fix the bug. Luckily, there’s a good news the iPhone and iPad App Store has already released app updates to resolve the bug. This means no longer iPhone and iPad users will face this problem.
However, if you are curious to know why you received the error message here it is.
What is “This app is no longer shared with you” error?
The error message “This app is no longer shared with you,” was related to a bug in Apple’s Family Sharing system. To resolve it, App Store re-released updates for all the apps, including YouTube and others that were showing the error message.
However, there is no change in the build number, the app updates have the same builds. But this doesn’t mean you should not update them. To resolve this error message you need to install the app update because only after this you will no longer receive the app is no longer shared with you.
This isn’t the first time App Store is following such a practice earlier to fix server-side issues or to re-up signing certificates the company does it.
Due to the bug users were unable to access popular apps like YouTube, WhatsApp, and others. The problem was at Apple’s end, not the app; therefore, App Store re-released updates. By issuing these app updates, the relevant parts of the app binaries that were causing certificate signing issues are made go away this means users will no longer face the “This app is no longer shared with you.”
That’s it. We hope you found the information helpful and were able to know the reason for the problem you are facing on your iOS device. Please do share your comments in the section below.