Newsletter: Tumblr Removed From App Store And Facebook Rolls Out Time Spent Dashboard

Newsletter: Tumblr Removed From App Store And Facebook Rolls Out Time Spent Dashboard

810Views
Newsletter

QUOTE OF THE DAY

“Today there are millions of people making stuff and putting it into the world: that’s become part of our identity and it shouldn’t be limited to people who fancy themselves writers, or who are particularly witty or talented.” ~David Karp

iOS VERSION OF TUMBLR GOES MISSING FROM APPLE’S APP STORE

THE STORY

Tumblr platform gets removed from App Store due to inappropriate content.

WHY IS TUMBLR REMOVED FROM APPLE’S APP STORE?

Tumblr is known for its adult-oriented blogs and art pieces. That is the reason Safe Mode is automatically activated for new users. But it seems this feature was deactivated somehow and NSFW (Not Safe for work) content was accessed. This violated Apple’s guidelines and therefore, Tumblr was pulled from Apple’s App Store.

WHAT WAS THE INAPPROPRIATE CONTENT?

The objectionable content can include things ranging from insensitive, upsetting, offensive, intended to disgust content to anything inappropriate. But in case of Tumblr it was child pornography.

WHO REQUESTED TO TAKE OFF TUMBLR FROM APP STORE?

It is unclear whether it was Apple’s safeguard decision or Tumblr itself who requested to take off the app from Apple’s App Store.

WAS ANY OTHER APP REMOVED FROM APPLE’S APP STORE FOR THE SAME REASON?

Besides Tumblr, Telegram the messaging app was also removed from Apple’s App Store last year due to the same reason (inappropriate content.) Telegram was discovered to be a channel for distributing child pornography.


FACEBOOK ROLLS OUT, “YOUR TIME ON FACEBOOK.”

THE STORY

Finally, Facebook rolls out a feature to let user set an app time limit.

facebook your name in facebook update

WHAT IS FACEBOOK’S NEW DASHBOARD ABOUT?

Facebook’s new dashboard brings a new feature called “Your Time on Facebook.” It is an activity tracker that will let user know how much time they spend daily with Facebook. The feature was announced in August, but it started to roll out now for both Android and iOS apps.

WILL THE NEW FEATURE ONLY SHOW TIME SPENT WITH FACEBOOK?

No, user can even choose to receive push notification once maximum time limit to use Facebook each day exceeds. Also, users will be able to mute push notifications that Facebook has been sending in bulk lately.

DOES ANY OTHER APP BESIDES FACEBOOK OFFERS THE SAME FEATURE?

Last week, Instagram rolled out a new dashboard that offered same feature. Along with it, Google’s Digital Wellbeing is also made available to the users.

HOW TO USE FACEBOOK’S NEW YOUR TIME ON FACEBOOK DASHBOARD?

To use it one would need to head to Facebook’s Settings > Privacy tab. Here click on “Your Time on Facebook,” to see how much time they spend with Facebook app daily.

WHAT DOES FACEBOOK’S NEW FEATURE MISS?

The new Your Time on Facebook feature misses following things:

  • Doesn’t allow user to block themselves from using the app.
  • No breakdown to see time spent with browsing News Feed, watching stories, exploring photo on profiles, messaging, and other Facebook activities.
Is this page helpful?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.